Environmental and Occupational Safety and Health

  • We adopt policies that reduce thermal fuel consumption and achieve environmental sustainability
  • We successfully filed the invention of the "Zero Salt Return Technology", characterized by the conservation of the environment
  • In line with the SWCC direction to achieve the Kingdom's Vision 2030, SWCC has obtained local and international environmental certificates
  • Our efforts to reduce negative impacts on the environment have successfully paid off through the establishment and implementation of an environmental management system.

Environmental pollution is still one of the risks threatening human life on Earth. According to estimates by the United Nations (UN) and the World Health Organization (WHO), environmental risks cause about 12.6 million deaths per year. Reports by international organizations concerned with the environment highlights the vital necessity of adopting thoughtful management of the industrial sector that causes environmental pollution threatening public health.

What are the policies adopted by SWCC to be environmentally friendly?

Environmental Compliance

Keenly driven to reduce environmental pollution to a minimum from all the SWCC facilities, hence achieve environmental sustainability, SWCC has placed environmental compliance at the core of key priorities in such a manner as to ideally comply with all applicable environmental laws and regulations and the use of environmentally friendly technologies.

Within the framework of the SWCC strategy in perfect harmony with Vision 2030 of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, SWCC has well committed to providing a safe and healthy environment across all SWCC facilities, plants and work sites, and has remarkably made the utmost efforts to reduce the negative effects of associated activities on the environment by establishing and implementing an efficient environmental management system.

SWCC ensures all operations are seamlessly subject to the following principles:

  • Promote and raise employees' awareness of environmental policies and practices and encourage them to participate in order to improve them and increase their effectiveness.
  • Adopting an efficient approach to preserving the environment and reducing risks in the design, construction and operation in plants and work sites.
  • Reducing the negative impact on the environment through pollution control, rationalization of natural materials consumption, emissions control and waste recycling management.
  • Compliance with laws and other environmental legal requirements.
  • Business planning and execution of all activities according to the environmental management system.
  • Ensuring that employees are trained on environmental protection and preservation rules.
  • Improving constantly the environmental management system to ensure a clean and non-polluting environment.
Brine Discharge

SWCC has successfully patented an ingenious and newfangled invention in seawater desalination industry. The invention that has taken out two patents is the "Zero Salt Return Technology", which aroused an intense interest of several international bodies, including the US Department of Energy.

The said technology is an advanced technical system that raises the concentration of brine from 70 thousand to a high concentration, ranging from 150 to 200 thousand parts per million. Of great note, this technology characteristically preserves the environment; the bromine element is commercially invested in the manufacture of batteries to achieve rewarding returns.

The "Zero Salt Return Technology" concentrates the brine solution, extracts associated rich materials and increases the quantities of desalinated water, which allows investment in various salts and the use of the lithium element in the manufacture of batteries, in addition to marketing and selling the outputs of the invention locally and internationally. This also helps in recycling and using the waste of rich materials found in brine as well as reducing chemicals to a minimum, while making SWCC plants environmentally friendly, developing innovation in technologies, and localizing seawater desalination industry.


Local and international environmental certificates

In line with SWCC strategy to achieve the Kingdom's Vision 2030, several desalination plants obtained 15 environmental compliance certificates according to ISO 14001 (2015) after observing environmental standards in Al-Khobar, Jubail, Ras Al-Khair, Yanbu Medina, Al-Shuqaiq, Duba, Hagel, Rabigh, Al-Wajh, Umluj, Al-Azizia, Al-Laith, Al-Qunfudhah and Farasan.

Key certificates also include 20 operational environmental licenses of the third category from the General Authority of Meteorology and Environmental Protection for Al-Hagel, Al Wajh, Umluj, Al-Azizia, Al-Leith, Al-Qunfudhah and Farasan Plants.

Equally important, SWCC obtained 7 environmental licenses issued by the General Authority of Meteorology and Environmental Protection for SWCC expansion projects in accordance with the Authority’s environmental standards, as part of the SWCC strategy developed to enhance production, performance efficiency and achieving the highest levels of environmental compliance. Of the Royal Commission for Jubail and Yanbu, Yanbu, Medinah and Ras Al Khair Plants obtained the third category environmental operational license.

السلامة والصحة البيئية والمهنية

  • نعتمد سياسات تحد من استهلاك الوقود الحراري وتحقق الاستدامة البيئية
  • استطعنا تسجيل اختراع "تقنية الصفر الرجيع الملحي" الذي يتميز بالحفاظ على البيئة
  • تماشيا مع توجه المؤسسة لتحقيق رؤية المملكة 2030 حصلت المؤسسة على شهادات بيئية محلية وعالمية
  • تكللت جهودنا للحد من الآثار السلبية على البيئة بالنجاح من خلال إنشاء وتطبيق نظام إدارة البيئة

لا يزال التلوث البيئي أحد المخاطر التي تهدد حياة الإنسان على الأرض, فبحسب تقديرات منظمتي الأمم المتحدة والصحة العالمية فإن المخاطر البيئية تسبب وقوع حوالي 12.6 مليون وفاة سنوياً. وتؤكد تقارير لمنظمات دولية معنية بالبيئة على ضرورة اعتماد إدارة رشيدة لقطاع الصناعة الذي يتسبب بالتلوث البيئي المهدد للصحة العامة.

فما السياسات التي اعتمدتها المؤسسة العامة لتحلية المياه لتكون صديقة البيئة؟

الإمتثال البيئي

بهدف الحد من الملوثات البيئية الصادرة من المنشأة وتحقيق الاستدامة البيئية وضعت المؤسسة العامة لتحلية المياه في مقدمة أولوياتها مسألة الامتثال لجميع القوانين واللوائح البيئية المعمول بها واستخدام تقنيات صديقة للبيئة. وفي إطار التوجه الاستراتيجي للمؤسسة تماشيا مع رؤية المملكة العربية السعودية 2030 التزمت المؤسسة بتوفير بيئة آمنة وصحية في جميع المرافق ومواقع العمل التابعة لها وبذلت أقصى الجهود الممكنة للحد من الآثار السلبية لنشاطها على البيئة عبر إنشاء نظام إدارة البيئة وتطبيقه.

وفي هذا السياق حرصت المؤسسة على خضوع جميع عملياتها للمبادئ التالية:

  • تعزيز ورفع وعي الموظفين بالسياسات والممارسات البيئية وتشجيعهم على المشاركة لتحسينها وزيادة فعالياتها
  • اعتماد منهج المحافظة على البيئة والحد من المخاطر في التصميم والبناء وتشغيل المرافق في المحطات ومواقع العمل
  • الحد من التأثير السلبي على البيئة من خلال مكافحة التلوث والترشيد في استهلاك المواد الطبيعية ومراقبة الانبعاثات وإعادة تدوير النفايات
  • الامتثال للقوانين وغيرها من المتطلبات القانونية المتعلة بالبيئة
  • تخطيط وتنفيذ جميع الأعمال والأنشطة وفق نظام إدارة البيئة
  • ضمان تدريب الموظفين على قواعد حماية البيئة والمحافظة عليها
  • الاستمرار في نظام تحسين إدارة البيئة لضمان بيئة نظيفة وغير ملوثة
الرجيع الملحي

استطاعت المؤسسة تسجيل اختراع هو الأول من نوعه على مستوى العالم في مجال تحلية المياه المالحة وسمي الاختراع الذي حصد براءتي اختراع بـ "تقنية الصفر الرجيع الملحي" وأثار اهتمام جهات دولية عدة من بينها وزارة الطاقة الأمريكية, وهو عبارةٌ عن منظومة تقنية متطورة ترفع تركيز المحلول الملحي من 70 ألفاً إلى تركيز عال, يتراوح بين 150 إلى 200 ألف جزء في المليون, وتتميز هذه التقنية بالمحافظة على البيئة, حيث يُستثمر عنصر البرومين في صناعة البطاريات لتحقيق عائدات مجزية.

وتقوم "تقنية الصفر الرجيع الملحي" بتركيز المحلول الملحي واستخلاص ثرواته وزيادة كميات المياه المحلاة ما يتيح الاستثمار في الأملاح المتنوعة وتوظيف عنصر الليثيوم في صناعة البطاريات بالإضافة إلى تسويق وبيع مخرجات الاختراع محلياً وعالمياً ووقف الهدر للثروات الكامنة في المحلول الملحي فضلا عن خفض المواد الكيميائية للحد الأدنى وجعل المحطات صديقة للبيئة وتطوير ابتكار التقنيات وتوطين الصناعة الملحية.


شهادات بيئية محلية وعالمية

وتماشيا مع التوجه الاستراتيجي للمؤسسة لتحقيق رؤية المملكة 2030 حصلت عدة محطات تحلية على 15 شهادة التزام بيئي وفق الأيزو 14001 نسخة 2015 بعد تحقيق المعايير البيئية في كل من الخبر وجبيل ورأس الخير وينبع المدينة المنورة والشقيق والشعيبة وضباء وحقل ورابغ والوجه وأملج والعزيزية والليث والقنفذة وفرسان.

بالإضافة إلى 20 رخصة بيئية تشغيلية من الفئة الثالثة من الهيئة العامة للأرصاد وحماية البيئة لمحطات حقل والوجه وأملج والعزيزية والليث والقنفذة وفرسان.

كما حصلت على 7 تراخيص بيئية صادرة من الهيئة العامة للأرصاد وحماية البيئة لمشاريع المؤسسة التوسعية وفقاً للمعايير البيئية الخاصة بالهيئة وذلك في إطار التوجه الاستراتيجي للمؤسسة بشأن رفع الإنتاج وكفاءة الأداء وتحقيق أعلى معدلات الالتزام البيئي. ومن الهيئة الملكية للجبيل وينبع حصلت محطات ينبع والمدينة المنورة ورأس الخير على الرخصة البيئية التشغيلية من الفئة الثالثة.